one holiday down…one more to go!

thanksgiving 2

Another Thanksgiving in the books.

Now that we are done giving thanks for the blessings in our lives,

(which for me means I didn’t blow out the seams of my pants this year)

it is back to some form of reality.

With the exception of my American friends and family

who still have more than a month to gear up

and hopefully take note of one very important matter

that could possibly make all the difference in the world

when it comes to celebrating their turkey day.

thanksgiving 1

So we basically survived.

We ate,

we drank

and for some,

that extra plate of turkey

meant one more thing…

We napped!

Some even go as far as not eating all day

because we all know that if you do that,

you’ll have a ton of room for that amazing main course

and all the fixings.

This would be so do-able

but who can resist the appetizers

that take up space

and scream at us

“pick me! pick me!”

(I swear I hear them talking when I’m starving)

Those cute little morsels

we carefully choose

from cheese trays

 to  pickle platters.

Apparently my deviled eggs brought down the house this year

and got a big thumbs up!

thanksgiving 1

Interestingly enough

the end result is always the same.

We eat and drink too much.

Holiday hangover as I like to call it.

Honestly believing that our bodies can handle

more food at one sitting

than we can normally eat in one day.

I suppose this wouldn’t be a true story

if I failed to mention desserts

coming out the ying-yang.

I can’t be the only one

who is full beyond imagination

and still feels the need

to force more pastry and cheesecake down my gullet,

knowing I am pushing my limits with my

ever so comfortable stretchy pants.

overeating

With all that being said,

it really isn’t  that bad.

After all,

it’s not like we do this everyday,

and a little over-indulgence never hurt anyone.

However Christmas is lurking

around the next corner,

and I don’t know about any of you,

but something tells me

I should get my act together come the next holiday,

and I really do need to work on my self-control.

However if that doesn’t happen

there is a strong possibility

 Santa will make sure I have a pair of

extra-large stretchy pants

 under the tree with my name on them,

so me and the screaming appetizers

can at least enjoy a pleasant conversation!

Stay thankful everybody!

Make it a great day!

2 thoughts on “one holiday down…one more to go!

  1. Hi Kimmie, so true , but I will tell you after reading this all I can think about is eating another great turkey dinner. Good job, and thanks for encouraging my apatite . I really needed more encouragement . L Is

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

