Happy Halloween!

halloween 8

Not to steal any thunder from this adorable cutie pie,

but Halloween is upon us once again.

Now I don’t know about a lot of you,

but it sure doesn’t have the same magic it used to

(at least from my point of view)

Of course,

tack on the fact that I am way beyond the stage of dressing up

(my golf attire excluded of course)

but as I walk through store after store,

with racks and racks of costumes

from every super hero to whatever the T.V sensation is to date

(yes, that means all you Duck Dynasty lovers)

I can’t help but remember that our big costume designs

when we were kids

were about rummaging through Dad’s old work clothes,

and finding any kind of material or accessory

to pull off our look.

Honestly can’t remember going shopping for anything,

or the hassle of Mom bringing us to try things on.

For some oddball reason,

I always chose to be a dirty old hobo.

Not to say my Dad was a slob,

but he did own a garage and let’s just say,

his closet of work clothes gave me lots to choose from.

We would make a mad dash home after school,

and Mom would get us all done up,

right down to smearing chocolate on my face,

(which by the way, itched so bad)

but the illusion was more important than the discomfort.

just a note:

the rubber boots were mine

and I can’t really tell what look my sisters were going for,

but there we stood for the famous Halloween picture.

(which haunts us all to this day)

halloween 1

So that was one part of the magic

I am talking about.

The other had to be

choosing our candy collector.

Not one of those silly plastic pumpkins

with a hole only big enough for one bag of chips

to go through,

and God forbid somebody handing out cans of pop

(which always crushed those poor chips)

halloween 3

Hell NO!

Lookout linen closet!

This job definitely required

the biggest pillow-case we could find.

After all,

daylight only lasted for so long,

and we had one shot to run the roads

like crazy little beggars.

Did I mention going to school the next day

was called “bragging day?”

So once we got the go ahead to leave

there was no fooling around.

Mom always made us leave at the same time,

so when the arm was lifted…

halloween 4

You guessed it!

Game On!

Another thought comes to mind.

 I do remember houses being decorated

but not like today.

The windows of our house were smeared

with hand-made ghosts and goblin decorations

that we made at school.

Sure Mom would have some fake cob webs

and a few other decorations

but if I remember correctly,

coming home from school the next day

meant one thing.

Good bye Halloween,

Hello Christmas!

(Right Mom?)

In no way

do I want to take anything away from those

who truly enjoy this time of year,

or all the excitement that still goes on

preparing for the big event

 and especially for those

trying to keep the spirit of Halloween alive

for the little ones who eagerly anticipate the fun and all its magic.

I just wanted to share my memories

of a time that has never left me

and I am pretty sure there are some of you

that may recall your very own.

 After all,

traditions are so very important to pass along

year after year.

This one still stands the test of time.

halloween 2

Happy Halloween everyone!

Have fun!

6 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

  1. Pingback: Cute Kid Halloween Costumes | FunPhotoLolzFunPhotoLolz

  2. I remember fondly going to school in our costumes and having a parade, and hoping for and usually getting the normal sized bars of candy, I was Ace Freeley one year and my mom helped me make my costume, thanks for jogging the memories Kimmie.

Leave a Reply

