until we meet again my friends…

I have struggled all day

whether to write this one or not,

thinking it might be too painful to read for some of you

or even offend those of you who may be thinking

“what the hell does she know about how we are feeling or what we are going through?”

My intention is in NO way to make anyone hurt anymore than they already do or have.

I just thought  it would be nice that you know

that by me talking about

the battles you are all facing or have faced,

that the rest of us are feeling your pain

and praying with every fiber of our being for each and every one of you.

So here I go…

 I know of two special people at this very moment,

living the last part of their lives

in the tranquility of a hospice

surrounded in love

among their family and friends.

There are others who come to mind

who have already done this voyage

and I can’t help but think of all of them

at a time like this.

Can’t even imagine what thoughts

can even run through their families and friends minds

in the mix of it all.

All I know is that every last moment spent with them

is being held like a precious time capsule.

Savoring every last word,

or holding on for dear life

to that final but gentle last touch.

hands

Knowing  whatever past experiences good or bad

that ever happened,

 doesn’t  mean a damn thing right about now.

As they slowly fade away,

the agony of them slipping away

is nothing anyone can actually describe.

It is a loss of a soul

whose memories will always

remain alive in our hearts.

No words of comfort really help

at a time like this

but yet we all send words of encouragement and love,

not in the hopes of a miracle

but rather that those

whose hearts are hurting with the loss of someone so dear,

know that they are not really alone.

Those we are loving and losing and so very tired

are just about ready

to find their way to God’s gate.

They know it is time to leave

but it’s in the eyes of those who surround them

that makes that final goodbye a safe and peaceful journey.

In the end,

we say our farewells with heavy hearts,

crushed souls,

and no real reason why it had to be like this

questioning all reasoning as to why God chose them

but once all is said and done,

and the tears continue to flow with no sense of relief

and we struggle with letting go,

the fact will always remain,

that they knew right to the very end

they were so very loved!

To those who are going through this now:

I send my heartfelt love and prayers

with every ounce of strength you may need.

For anyone who has already been through this:

I send you my admiration and respect.

Empowered by the courage it took

to carry yourself through the pain

for those you have already said your goodbye’s to

and continuing to keep

 the spirit of their souls alive!

sky

I was worried as to how I would put an end to this one

which seemed to consume my brain most of the day

and knowing how difficult this even had to be

for some of you to read.

I just wanted those who can relate

to know that we who have stood around you

know the burdens you carry or have carried.

So as gentle and compassionate as I can be

and in the memory of those

we are losing,

and those we have already lost.

God willing we will see you on the other side!

until we meet again my friends…

God Bless you all~

10 thoughts on “until we meet again my friends…

  1. This is the most beautiful post. Yes, I have been through this with both of my parents who were lucid and aware up to the end. It was so very hard, but so good to be there with them.

    • Thank You Angeline and sorry to hear about the loss of your parents. I was so worried that I may offend anyone because no one can really speak for what anyone feels or goes through. I just wanted to let those who are dealing with this know that all of us on the other side know there is pain and struggle. From the feedback I have received, I guess I did okay!! Thank you for dropping by with such kind words!!

  2. Loved reading it will read it again and again and will pass it on. Kim keep on giving and loving we send it all back thanks guys

  3. Oh Kimmie, you have touched my heart so deeply. What an honest, beautiful, painful and hopeful wish for all those who are preparing for the hardest of transitions. I have been there, and you found that place that still holds those who have left so close. Thank you..

    • Thank you Mimi and you are so welcome..
      I really did struggle as to whether I should write and share this one,knowing of those who are actually dealing with this sad and painful ordeal but I figured if I could be as real and honest to them about what those of us who are on the outside can see and those who have already been through it, it would help in some little way.
      I am glad it touched your heart and from the feedback I a have been getting, I did what I was hoping to do…
      Shine my little Kimmie light 🙂
      Have an amazing day my friend and again Thank You!!

  4. Pingback: Saying Goodbye | A New Chapter

Leave a Reply

