there is always one…

people talking

Sorry to start off with a tongue twister

(which by the way is no direct finger pointing to the Susie’s I know personally)

 but it’s meaning sure packs a punch, doesn’t it?

I have found that as the years pass on by, and how I am aging gracefully,

(okay, so gracefully isn’t exactly the right term but it sure sounds more appealing than kicking and screaming like a 2 year old )

 how much I can truly grasp the meaning of the caption above from the experiences I have gone through.

I am no better than most at times  and I certainly have had people in my life that I haven’t seen things eye to eye with,

but one thing always crosses my mind when I try to understand why in most cases.

The way they conduct themselves by how they speak of others is usually the reason why we clash.

This is such a pet peeve of mine.

How easy it can be for them to trash family, friends, co workers or just about anybody without any hesitation,

especially when it comes to demeaning their character or lifestyle.

We all have at least one that we have encountered.

You know who I am talking about.

That particular person who seems to want to tear down people for what ever reasons,

and of course be all confident with themselves,

which I find entertaining especially when it’s done behind their back or as they walk away.

(nothing says confidence like a person with a big mouth and no spine)

I am always fascinated by how pompous and arrogant they are,

but when “said” person stands before them,

how amazing their “full of themselves” attitude can vanish, this kind and sweet person emerges

 and in a split second once that person they are speaking of turns away,

how it can bring out their inner Linda Blair from the Exorcist.

( so the head doesn’t actually spin 360 but it sure can be an ugly thing to watch)

So now that I have you all thinking of a certain person,

Where do we go from here?

If there is one thing I really try to do is pay more attention to how I conduct myself with others.

I have always believed that the first rule of thumb when meeting someone or getting to know them,

is to listen to how they talk about the people in their own lives.

When you really sit and think about it…

If they can tear someone down so easily in your presence,

pretty sure you aren’t too safe either when it’s your turn to walk away.

Makes sense…right?

I will admit that I have not mastered this by no means,

but with every passing day I really make it a point to be aware of my actions.

Some days are definitely harder than others with some of the characters I have met,

but I try…

Oh Lord, do I try!

The way I see it,

is there is only one person I can control in that situation.

Which means 1 of 2 things.

I can waste my time giving that person the attention they so desperately need to make a complete ass of themselves,

or I can simply walk away and be the best “Me” I can be.

It would be awesome if we could give them a good talking too so we can point out how rude or obnoxious they are,

but let’s face it.

That would only be more ammunition for people like that.

After all, it’s what truly feeds them anyway..

It doesn’t make much sense to give them more bullets to load the gun or at least that’s how I see it.

The really sad part is we cannot escape them or change them for that matter,

so in the end it comes down to one important thing…

You!

best version

What do they say?

Actions speak louder than words and a person’s true colors will always surface.

Who you decide to be is entirely in your hands,

so whether you are the Susie or the Sally,

(hang on boys, I didn’t forget you)

 a Joey or a Johnny.

One thing is without a doubt certain when you move forward with your day.

The choice is and will always be…

YOURS!

Make it a great day everybody! 🙂

Leave a Reply

