just one of those days….

inspiration 19

Have you ever woken up only to find you are  just not feeling like your usual self?

 Knowing that there isn’t a real crisis for the day, and there is no specific reason for being so unmotivated.

How you just can’t seem to find that happy place in your heart and that little bit of sadness that looms within  you?

That the idea of venturing out seems like such an inconvenience, or how unattached you want to be from the rest of world.

Yesterday was my day!!

It was an out of the ordinary mild winter day, almost masking itself to be a beautiful spring day, and there I sat, not wanting to do anything or go anywhere.

 I was quite content with hiding myself away, not wanting to engage with anyone, lounging in my flannel pajama’s with absolutely no purpose or drive.

The crazy part is,  although I knew there were some things I could do,  there was a bit of guilt that I would dare waste such a gorgeous day on being so damn lazy and feeling so gloomy.

I did however do some laundry (which is the absolute  weird part, because if I didn’t feel like doing much for the day, laundry is the one thing I DESPISE  the most!! ) and trust me, I did at one point  honestly wonder  if I am really going off the deep end.

 Although I know that the effects of menopause are becoming a part of my life, and approaching another birthday (which for the most part has never been an issue for me) I can’t help but wonder if somewhere down deep in my core, they are playing a little role in how days like this come into play.

The good news is…

Thank God, I don’t have too many of these days, and if I start noticing my laundry is all caught up,

 I may have to look into getting some professional help!!

A friend once told me, “Kimmie, it’s okay to be down.  It  actually makes the rest of us feel better knowing that you are just like us.”

I couldn’t understand that at the time, because my life has always been about humor and silliness, so when these little “bouts” appear, they sort of shake me a bit. The more I talk to friends and family about this “aging” process, the more I am discovering that this is much more common than we are lead to believe.

In one of my “lazy” moments yesterday, I actually watched a program where a doctor said, ” Women for the most part deal with these sort of feelings more than we possibly know. Women are terrible when it comes to  allowing those close to them, or the world to know that they suffer through this, which makes them feel that they are weak.  They have too much to take care of, or deal with, so this is not something they can make any sort of time for.”

Another thing mentioned was,  women don’t talk about it.

We  silently and secretly live with it. We disguise our true selves because we don’t want anyone to know that there is a strong possibility that with our vulnerability, we may not have the solution for the first time ever!!”

We cannot allow anyone to know that our capes aren’t helping with our superpowers!!

God forbid that happens!!!

I am happy to report, that today I woke up in a much happier state knowing that it  was “just one of those days” and feeling a whole lot better that I shared this with you.

I just wanted to open the door and if it just so happens that today turns out to be

“your gloomy day”….

Do yourself a BIG favor…

Understand that you are NEVER alone!!

That it is okay to resist your superpowers!!

And if all else fails…………

 you can make it laundry day,

AND THROW THAT CAPE IN!!! 

Make it a great day, and if it can’t be great……

   MAKE IT RELAXING AND KNOW THAT TOMORROW YOU CAN TAKE CONTROL OF THE WORLD ONCE AGAIN,

ESPECIALLY WITH YOUR FRESHLY WASHED CAPE!!  

NOW IF YOU WILL EXCUSE ME….

TIME TO FLY!! 😉

Leave a Reply

